The Fire & Police Motocross Nationals (FPMX) were established in 1989 by Los Angeles County Firefighter Ed Wilson. The first race was held on November 14th and 15th, 1989 at Perris Raceway in Southern California. With help from track owner Goat Brecker, Los Angeles County Firefighters Rick Rapier & Steve Marquez along with Ed’s wife Sue Wilson, the first time event was a huge success.

Ed began his racing career in 1987 at the California Fireman’s Olympics held at Glen Helen Raceway in San Bernardino, CA. where he won the Gold medal in the beginner class. Needless to say, Ed was hooked. The event chairman was L.A. City Fire Department Battalion Chief, John Mittendorf. Ed was so impressed by the event that he decided to take up motocross as his new hobby pushing aside basketball and golf. The idea to create the FPMX came to Ed after attending the 1988 California Fireman’s Olympics in Northern California. The Nor Cal event did not come close to measuring up to the Mittendorf ran event, either did the local races that Ed began to attend that year.

Although showing up at local races with your bike in the bed of your pickup was fun Ed felt that motocross should be bigger than that. Longing for that feeling of camaraderie and competition with his fellow firefighters, Ed began to promote a once a year Fire & Police motocross event in Southern California. Over the years the Fire & Police Motocross nationals have developed into a multi State Series including Arizona, California, New York & Nevada. The FPMX also has a chapter in Ohio. (

Chaney Ranch Ride Day​​

May 4th, 2024

By invitation only

100% Preregistration

No day of ride entry

about us

Upcoming events